How does SecureVideo work for clinicians?

Support Center > Getting Started

Published : Not Published

Page viewed 7702 times

Details

If you're new to SecureVideo and want an overview of how it works you're in the right place! (For more details, see the rest of the articles in our Getting Started section.)

 

You may also be interested in:

Answer

1. Accounts

Clinicians need to have SecureVideo.com accounts, and can log in by going to www.securevideo.com and clicking the Login button in the upper right-hand corner. 

Log In button

 

 

2. Schedule a Session

Once logged in, clinicians can schedule videoconferencing sessions and add participants' names and e-mail addresses or smartphone numbers, and their time zones. (E-mail addresses and phone numbers are optional, but allow us to send an e-mail or text invitation to your participants. Note: Text invitations/reminders are a PLUS feature.)

Add participant screen

 

 

3. Dashboard - Editing a Session

From your dashboard, you can view and edit sessions to reschedule, add/remove participants, or cancel them. If you have created a session at a specific date and time, you can also use our Schedule Next... option to populate an appointment with the same persons at the same time next week. (For more information about editing sessions, please see How do I reschedule, cancel or edit participants in a videoconference session?)

 SecureVideo Dashboard

 

 

4. Dashboard - Helping the Patient Join the Meeting

If the session appointment time has passed and your patient is not in the waiting room, you can use the "Remind" button to instantly e-mail/text them a reminder. If a patient can't access their e-mail/texts, you can call them with their 9-digit Access Code to join the session instead. For details, please see How do invitees join a video session? (No invite)

Access code and Remind link

 

 

5. Dashboard - Starting the Session

In a SecureVideo session, the patient always arrives first, followed by the clinician. When the Connect button for your patient turns blue (indicating the Participant is Waiting), click on it to connect to them. (For details, please see How do I start a videoconference session?)

Connect button when participant is waiting

 

 

6. Multiparty Sessions

If you want to hold a session with more than one other person, you can! (However, we don't recommend more than 6 participants.) Simply use the "Connect" button once each patient is ready, and in the order you want to invite them into the videoconference. 

 

7. Popup Notifications

Chrome, Firefox, and Safari users can enable desktop notifications for when a patient comes online--you just have to have the browser running with your SecureVideo Dashboard open in a tab. This way, you can be doing something entirely different on your computer, and you'll be notified when your patient is in your waiting room. (For instructions, please see our article, How do I enable/disable popup notifications?)

Screencap showing what a desktop notification looks like

 

 

8. Auditing

All invitations, reminders, and connections are audited to our database for HIPAA compliance. For still active sessions, use the "History" button to access the audit trail for that participant.

History button      Participant History log

 

 

9. Chat

Chat is easy and useful. Click on the chat icon in a person's video window to open a private chat with them.

Screencap showing chat

 

See our website for the full list of SecureVideo features.  

 

 

This article was last reviewed by our Support team on March 9, 2015.